California Minimum Wage Increases for 2022
California continues to increase the minimum wage for workers, with the next increase occurring on January 1, 2022. If you are working in a position that pays minimum wage, it is important that you know how much you are owed for your work. Wage and hour lawsuits are the most prevalent type of employment law case filed in California, and an experienced employment law attorney can help if you believe that your rights are being violated.
State Minimum Wage Increase
The previous and planned increases are all part of a multi-year plan to reach a $15.00 per hour minimum wage for California workers. Statewide, on January 1, 2022 the minimum wage for all employees with 25 or fewer workers will increase to $14.00 per hour, and all employees at a company with more than 25 employees will increase to $15.00 per hour. The law affects minimum salary requirements for exempt employees, as well.
Municipality Minimum Wage Increase
Some municipalities in California have also enacted their own minimum wage increases that equal or surpass the state minimum wage. While some municipalities enact their minimum wage increases mid-year, the following also enact their minimum wage increases on January 1, 2022 regardless of the size of the employer:
- Belmont: $16.20 per hour
- Burlingame: $15.60 per hour
- Cupertino: $16.40 per hour
- Daly City: $15.53 per hour
- East Palo Alto: $15.60 per hour
- El Cerrito: $16.37 per hour
- Half Moon Bay: $15.56 per hour
- Los Altos: $16.40 per hour
- Menlo Park: $15.75 per hour
- Mountain View: $17.10 per hour
- Oakland: $15.06 per hour
- Palo Alto: $16.45 per hour
- Petaluma: $15.85 per hour
- Redwood City: $16.20 per hour
- Richmond: $15.54 per hour
- San Carlos: $15.77 per hour
- San Diego: $15.00 per hour
- San Jose: $16.20 per hour
- San Mateo: $16.20 per hour
- Santa Clara: $16.40 per hour
- Santa Rosa: $15.85 per hour
- South San Francisco: $15.55 per hour
- Sunnyvale: $17.10 per hour
California Wage Claims
In many cases, when an employer fails to pay one employee minimum wage, they are often failing to pay multiple employees what they are owed. When this occurs, the workers can file a class action lawsuit for damages. If successful, employees can receive back wages in addition to interest on those wages and attorneys’ fees for the lawsuit as well as any court costs. If it is discovered that the employer violated minimum wage laws in bad faith, employees injured by their actions could be entitled to double damages under California law. An employment law attorney is the best person to help you assess whether you have a valid claim for a minimum wage lawsuit.
Call or Contact an Employment Law Attorney
As California lawmakers work to ensure that all employees receive a living wage, if you believe that your employer is not paying you what you owe, you may have a valid claim against them. To learn more about your legal options for minimum wage violations, call or contact an experienced California employment law attorney in your area today.